So… What kind of person do I want to be?

I have been missing in action for a while, but only blog wise, as we have been working hard on building the cornerstones of The Noah Lequime Foundation. Not only that, but I have been contemplating some small changes in the life of my little family. Phew it all takes time and effort, something there is not so much of in a special needs family to begin with.

All that aside, I did spend a lot of time thinking about what kind of person I wanted to be. When you slam a post like my last one on the table, you should be prepared to take the reflecting upon your own shoulders.

After a couple of months of more or less bleak despair, not over our family life, but the horrid way our world and society is evolving, I have come to the conclusion that I want to be that person that speaks up. Heck, I can’t help myself doing it. I honestly do not think I could function without trying to make the world a better place. For a long time, I thought I would need a platform to do so, but really it is so much more about just doing it. It is like waiting to take up running until you have lost 5 pounds. It just will never happen.

So although I cannot be sure, that I have anything valid to say, nor that anybody would want to listen, I have decided to keep on talking. About the way I see life and the way life greats me.

That is the person I want to be. The one trying to make a difference. The one speaking up for those who can not. And possibly the one who will sometimes be heard and thus actually doing something right.

That being said, I really want to be that person who does right by myself too. But I think that is a much bigger job for me than the rest of it. Does burning your candles at both ends sound familiar to anybody?

About Astrid Lequime

Founder of the Noah Lequime Foundation. Our goal is to brighten the lives of underprivileged special needs children around the world. Social worker, philanthropist and mother of three children. Two are special needs children.
This entry was posted in Empathy, Social work, This and that, Tolerance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

